Sentries

 

How many books can be stacked atop a bedside table? Right now there are no less than eight; the ninth is in my hand.

Is it variety I crave? Or simply that I cannot shelve what remains unread – a steady stream of volumes I’ve yet to fully digest  …

I won’t list them here, as they all change in time, to be replaced by other literary constallations of a different mood and temperament.

If you are not  a reader, this kind of sentimentality will make no sense.

If you are not a writer, it matters even less.

But if you draw inspiration from the forming of concepts through the medium of carefully crafted words, perhaps you, like I, take comfort in these sentries of the night, flanking pillow and head – imparting magic and nourishment in the space between deep dusk and the dawning of the day.

 

4 comments on “Sentries”

  1. Speaking of words – these pretty much lull my soul: “perhaps you, like I, take comfort in these sentries of the night, flanking pillow and head – imparting magic and nourishment in the space between deep dusk and the dawning of the day.”

    I feel like whistling – giving out a great blast of that familiar sound that says “Gorgeous”. That sentence and that photo…

    Now, just how do I write a whistle? Or did I just do it?

  2. Firstly .. love that top image and secondly.. SAME.. I have piles of books everywhere and especially on the floor by my bed,, that is where the unread ones sit. i cannot and never have been without a book, for as long as i remember.. so many of us are kindred spirits.. when it comes to words and books full of them.. c

    • I love that image as well! I believe it’s Edgar Allen Poe’s desk, but I might be mistaken. Got it off the net awhile ago, and forgot to append the file name to include whose it was 😦

      I agree, many of us ARE kindred spirits! I marvel at our little WordPress community! What magic the internet holds.

      Take care, Ms. C.


Leave a Reply

