Storylines

How long can one exist on just a story? I think some people live out the entirety of their days in the thrall of fabrication. And many don’t realize it until it is too late.

I remember My Story. It began in the distant past, and I coughed it up and out like a nasty hairball – a reflexive and seemingly necessary act at the time – resulting in an unpalatable mess plopped directly in my path for all the world to see. I had to side-step it, just to forge on with a tiny bit of progress.

Recognizing something is a huge help in preventing its future recurrence.

Once I observed My Story for what it was, not only could I strive for greater authenticity, but I could detect the affliction in others. Another leap and I sailed beyond judgment into the waiting arms of compassion; not only for others, but for the once-mired illusory self I’d been dragging around all those years.

cat

4 comments on “Storylines”

  1. The picture reminded me of “The PIcture of Dorian Gray,” the novel in which the young man fially sees his image in the mirror and discovers…

  2. Yes your always bang on ,I have seen similar hindsight I believe the experience is journey and lesson is reflection without regret , just learn. As usual your bang on. Jim


Leave a Reply

