THE GOLDEN RULE

Whether attributed to Confucius or Jesus and/or simply as a conclusion drawn by many who observe life’s workings over time, Do unto others, as you would have others do unto you is an assertion fastened upon from my youth. It has stood the test of time too, though I now simply consider it karma.

It mystifies me that people who espouse one set of guidelines and live by another are the least likely to understand the implications of this simple Law of Attraction. If I wish others to respect me, I learn to respect others. If I want to be treated kindly, I practice kindness. To everyone. If friendship and unconditional love are desired, I liberate my own considerable affections and entrapments (money and time leap to mind as particularly Western concerns).

If I yearn for others to appreciate me, I consistently demonstrate qualities I wish to have mirrored back by others. These things may be difficult at times, but of course they can be cultivated.

Life is too expansive a canvas to cower in the same corner when there’s a diverse world waiting to be explored. If I continue reinforcing thus and so, I restrict my experience to a set of circumstances that rubber-stamp that belief. I relegate myself to the smallness of my own confusion rather than the glorious adventure waiting beyond the boundaries of what I believe to be known.

4 comments on “THE GOLDEN RULE”

  1. My mother used to say that all the time! Bela i cannot find your email address. My readers and I are writing a book that i know you would want to be involved in. Please excuse me writing this here but I thought I would pop in to make sure you knew about it. Can you email me if you have a moment and I will send you the details.. No pressure though.. just letting you know.. c

  2. “Life is too expansive a canvas to cower in the same corner when there’s a diverse world waiting to be explored. ”
    I love it, my friend!


Leave a Reply

