Mother’s Lament

I’ve begun writing with yet another group of powerful women. Our theme is Mothers and Daughters, and while I was pondering my first submission to the group, this little ditty sprang into my head before I settled down to compose my ‘real’ piece. Thought to share it with you all here, in the light spirit of the summer season. ~ Aloha, Bela

 

MOTHER’S LAMENT

 

For times I did not make it clear,

you’re foremost in my life;

remember well I spoke my love

amidst the stress and strife.

 

I cannot change what happened then,

though wish, I often do –

young mothers cannot grasp that which

their parents proved untrue.

 

I know how children learn,

for now I see it in their eyes –

observing trumps words every time,

the young, they are so wise!

 

Forgive all this, my daughters dear,

your lives mean more to me

than a hundred years more

were it granted me now;

for without you,

how could I be free?

 

3 comments on “Mother’s Lament”

  1. I Nominate you for A Bunch of Awards – 13 Nominations

    please choose any 3 awards out of the 13
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-bunch-of-awards-13-nominations/


Leave a Reply

